Where is Belfast?

Belfast is a city in the county of Antrim, in the Province of Ulster, located in Northern Ireland, on the island of Ireland, in the continent of Europe.

The city has become both famous and infamous throughout the years.

Once an industrial powerhouse producing rope, linen, and famously ships, then a city torn apart by 30 years of conflict, and now a bustling mix of business, foodies, tourists and more. It’s fair to say Belfast has a history and wears its heart on its sleeve every single day.

You can read more about the famous city here.

Where is Belfast?

Continent: Europe

Belfast is located within the continent of Europe.

Europe is a north-hemisphere continent. It has many countries within its borders, each with its own unique history and culture and it also features the political body known as the European Union.

Belfast resides within Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom, and thus not currently a part of the European Union.

Country: Northern Ireland (UK)

One of the many countries within Europe and the EU is Ireland. Geographically, Ireland sits next to the United Kingdom. The two countries have been connected and intertwined for centuries.

Part of this connection is the partition of Ireland and the formation of Northern Ireland in 1921/22.

Northern Ireland consists of 6 of 32 Irish counties, and this counties are Antrim, Derry, Down, Armagh, Tyrone and Fermanagh.

The country, part of the United Kingdom, is famous for exports including Bushmills Whiskey and famous Irish golfers like Rory McIlroy and Darren Clarke, as well as incredible beaches, the Mourne Mountains, and musical exports including Van Morrison, Snow Patrol, Stiff Little Fingers, Nadine Coyle, The Undertones and Gary Moore.

Unfortunately the country also has a past blighted with violence and bloodshed. The Troubles, a civil war conflict, raged from 1968-1998, but thankfully ended with the signing of the Good Friday Peace Agreement between the political parties of Northern Ireland, the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in 1998 at Stormont in Belfast.

Province: Ulster

Ulster is one of the four provinces of Ireland. However, six counties (including where Belfast is located) are within Northern Ireland. They are, thus, part of the United Kingdom, as well as Ireland.

Historically, Ulster has played a massive part in the story of the Ulster Scots. Although they were initially put there by the English king to convert the Irish, many ended up calling Ulster their home and forming a special and unique culture.

Famous faces from Ulster include the legendary footballer George Best, snooker player Alex Higgins, Irish President Mary McAleese, Jamie Dornan, Van Morrison, Kenneth Branagh, Seamus Heaney, Rory McIlroy, Dame Mary Peters and Enya (from Donegal, within the province of Ulster).

County: Antrim

The island of Ireland is divided into 32 counties in total, with 26 in the Republic of Ireland and 6 in Northern Ireland and the city of Belfast is located in the county of Antrim.

County Antrim is famous as the home of The Giant’s Causeway, the birthplace of Titanic, containing famous castles such as those at Dunluce and Carrickfergus, and for once being home to Saint Patrick during his first enforced visit to Ireland as a slave. At this time Patrick tended sheep on Slemish Mountain, just outside the market town Ballymena.

Antrim also earned the nickname of the “President’s County” because a number of United States Presidents have ancestors who originally hail from Antrim including Andrew Jackson, William McKinley, and Theodore Roosevelt.

Antrim is also famous for slightly more modern exports including Hollywood’s Liam Neeson and the author of Narnia, CS Lewis.